Please login to the form below

Not currently logged in

The LionsDen Award for Writing Excellence – Healthcare Professionals

Sponsored by

Back to results


Women for Positive Action

by Litmus MME for AbbVie

Summary of work

Women for Positive Action aims to empower, educate and support professionals caring for women living with HIV (WLWH) through the provision of practical support and guidance across a range of challenging issues in addition to highlighting areas where further research is required. In 2011 and 2012 the group focused on the sensitive topic of reproductive health by publishing a peer-reviewed paper discussing existing evidence and highlighting gaps in the literature to encourage increased research in this area. A supporting educational slide kit was updated to offer practical support and guidance to those involved in the care of WLWH. The group also released a short statement, in conjunction with World AIDS Day, highlighting the potential impact of gender differences in HIV on care and calling for additional research involving WLWH. Women for Positive Action extended the reach of these materials through local country activities, a multilingual website and Twitter.

Judges comments

This had good relevance and suitability for the audience and was an impressive and important study in a very worthwhile area. It was a comprehensive survey that clearly identified the gaps in the literature and the way forward and explained it in a way that gave healthcare professionals the tools to communicate this information to their audience.


Winners in Pictures

Photo Gallery

Back to results

Key dates

Entry deadline 5 March 2020
Extended entry deadline 12 March 2020
Judging day 1 7 May 2020
Judging day 2 21 May 2020
Awards Ceremony 2 July 2020

Contact information:

For sponsorship opportunities:
Sales Team
Tel: +44 (0)1372 414200

General event enquiries:
Debbie Tuesley
Tel: +44 (0)1372 414243

Behind the Judging: An exclusive insight into all the major healthcare awards

Behind the Judging: Communiqué Awards
Find out what co-the chair of judges Annabelle Sandeman, senior judge Neil Flash and previous award winner Jan Steele have to say on how the judging process works, what the judges focus on, tips on what helps and what distracts within an entry and get insights into how previous winners have created that stand out submission.