Please login to the form below

Not currently logged in

Excellence in Communications - Payers/Policy Makers

Sponsored by

Back to results


Everolimus for Epilepsy

by Incisive Health for Tuberous Sclerosis Association

Summary of work

In July 2018, NHS England announced that it would not pay for a new treatment, everolimus, for epilepsy related to tuberous sclerosis complex (TSC), a rare genetic disease. The decision was hugely disappointing for patients and families, who made clear the life-changing benefits of the medicine.

The Tuberous Sclerosis Association (TSA) therefore undertook a multichannel campaign to reverse the decision. By engaging with NHS England on a constructive basis, mobilising the TSC patient community and provoking public scrutiny through the media and parliament, the TSA successfully persuaded the NHS to reconsider its decision and make everolimus available.

Judges' comments

This nifty campaign focused on a small target group to get the best message across to the TSE community. They had solid tactics and attained good media coverage in a tough, rare disease market. What Incisive Health and the Tuberous Sclerosis Association achieved will change patients’ lives.

Highly commended

Making ADHD the Centre of Attention - by ENGINE MHP for Takeda


Securing Equity of Access to Cancer Medicines in Northern Ireland - by Hanover Communications for Bristol-Myers Squibb

Everolimus for Epilepsy - by Incisive Health for Tuberous Sclerosis Association

Diabetes UK: Making Hospitals Safe for People with Diabetes - By Sanofi UK For Diabetes UK

Category Sponsors

Key dates

Entry deadline 5 March 2020
Extended entry deadline 12 March 2020
Judging day 1 7 May 2020
Judging day 2 21 May 2020
Awards Ceremony 2 July 2020

Contact information:

For sponsorship opportunities:
Sales Team
Tel: +44 (0)1372 414200

General event enquiries:
Debbie Tuesley
Tel: +44 (0)1372 414243

Behind the Judging: An exclusive insight into all the major healthcare awards

Behind the Judging: Communiqué Awards
Find out what co-the chair of judges Annabelle Sandeman, senior judge Neil Flash and previous award winner Jan Steele have to say on how the judging process works, what the judges focus on, tips on what helps and what distracts within an entry and get insights into how previous winners have created that stand out submission.